• Account

Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty now.

Shopping Cart

Your cart is empty now.

Queer & Body Positive

Queer & Body Positive

  • 21 December, 2020
  • Matthew Cornford

Below you will find a wonderful range of books all about being Queer and Body Positive. These books address not only fun and fantasy but also demonstrate you can be fantastic, loving, magical, strong and beautiful regardless of the shape of your body. ENJOY!

 

Faith: Taking Flight

Faith: Taking Flight by Julie Murphy

From Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin, comes the first in a two-book origin story of Faith, a ground breaking, plus-sized superhero from the Valiant Entertainment comics.

Faith Herbert is a pretty regular teen. When she's not hanging out with her two best friends, Matt and Ches, she's volunteering at the local animal shelter or obsessing over the long-running teen drama The Grove. So far, her senior year has been spent trying to sort out her feelings for her maybe-crush Johnny and making plans to stay close to Grandma Lou after graduation. Of course, there's also that small matter of recently discovering she can fly.

When the fictional world of The Grove crashes into Faiths reality as the show relocates to her town, she cant believe it when TV heroine Dakota Ash takes a romantic interest in her. But her fandom-fueled daydreams aren't enough to distract Faith from the fact that first animals, then people, have begun to vanish from the town. Only Faith seems able to connect the dots to a new designer drug infiltrating her high school. But when her investigation puts the people she loves in danger, she will have to confront her hidden past and use her newfound gifts risking everything to save her friends and beloved town.

 

Nothing Is Okay

Nothing Is Okay by Rachel Wiley

Nothing is Okay is the second full-length poetry collection by Rachel Wiley, whose work simultaneously deconstructs the lies that we were taught about our bodies and our beings, and builds new ways of viewing ourselves. As she delves into queerness, feminism, fatness, dating, and race, Wiley molds these topics into a punching critique of culture and a celebration of self. A fat positive activist, Wiley's work soars and challenges the bounds of bodies and hearts, and the ways we carry them.

 

No Big Deal

No Big Deal by Bethany Rutter

No Big Deal is a fierce and body-positive celebration of friendship, first crushes and loving yourself 'No Big Deal is an iconic love song to everyone out there who knows that life isn't one size fits all 'Julie Murphy, bestselling author of Dumplin' Emily knows she's smart. Emily knows she's funny. Emily knows she's awesome. Emily knows she's fat. She doesn't need anyone to tell her any of these things - she likes herself and she likes her body. She just thinks it's time everyone else caught up.

With a newly-slim bestie, a mum knee-deep in fad diets and increasing pressure to change, Emily faces a constant battle to be her true self. But when she meets gorgeous Joe, things start to change. Somehow, she's going to have to convince everyone, including herself, that it's no big deal. No Big Deal is a funny and inspiring debut YA novel from Bethany Rutter: influencer, editor and a fierce UK voice in the debate around body positivity.

 

Melt My Heart

Melt My Heart by Bethany Rutter

Melt My Heart is a hilarious and inspiring coming-of-age YA novel from Bethany Rutter: influencer, editor and a fierce UK voice in the debate around body positivity. Lily Rose is used to people paying attention to her gorgeous twin sister, Daisy. But even though Lily loves her own fat body, she can't shake the idea that no one would ever choose her over Daisy - not when they could have the thin twin. That is, until she meets Cal, the gorgeous, sweet guy from New Zealand who can't seem to stay away. The gorgeous, sweet guy who also happens to be Daisy's summer crush. Lily can't seem to figure out why she isn't as into him as she should be.

She should be head-over-heels in love, not missing time at the ice-cream shack with her life-long best friend, Cassie. Not wondering what Cassie is getting up to with Cal's friend Jack, or what she's thinking about when they're alone... With University threatening to tear Cassie and Lily apart at the end of summer and Lily desperately trying to keep Cal a secret from Daisy, summer is set to be far from relaxing.

 

The Summer of Jordi Perez

The Summer of Jordi Perez by Amy Spalding

Seventeen, fashion-obsessed, and gay, Abby Ives has always been content playing the sidekick in other people's lives. While her friends and sister have plunged headfirst into the world of dating and romances, Abby's been happy to focus on her plus-size style blog and her dreams of taking the fashion industry by storm. When she lands a great internship at her favourite boutique, she's thrilled to take the first step toward her dream career. Then she falls for her fellow intern, Jordi Perez. Hard. And now she's competing against the girl she's kissing to win the coveted paid job at the end of the internship.

But really, nothing this summer is going as planned. She also unwittingly becomes friends with Jax, a lacrosse playing bro-type who wants her help finding the best burger in Los Angeles, and she's struggling to prove to her mother-the city's celebrity health nut-that she's perfectly content with who she is. Just as Abby starts to feel like she's no longer the sidekick in her own life, Jordi's photography surprisingly puts her in the spotlight. Instead of feeling like she's landed a starring role, Abby feels betrayed. Can Abby find a way to reconcile her positive yet private sense of self with the image others have of her?

 

I'll Be the One

I'll Be the One by Lyla Lee

Diverse book recommended by The Today Show *An Amazon Best Book of 2020 * One of BN's 100 Books of Summer for Teens YA * A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2020

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy.

Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn't dance. Wear bright colours. Shouldn't call attention to themselves. But Skye dreams of joining the glittering world of K-Pop, and to do that, she's about to break all the rules that society, the media, and even her own mother, have set for girls like her. Shell challenge thousands of other performers in an internationally televised competition looking for the next K-pop star, and shell do it better than anyone else.

When Skye nails her audition, she's immediately swept into a whirlwind of countless practices, shocking performances, and the drama that comes with reality TV. What she doesn't count on are the highly fat-phobic beauty standards of the Korean pop entertainment industry, her sudden media fame and scrutiny, or the sparks that soon fly with her fellow competitor, Henry Cho. But Skye has her sights on becoming the worlds first plus-sized K-pop star, and that means winning the competition without losing herself.

 

Untouchable

Untouchable by Talia Hibbert

Sleeping with the staff wasn’t part of the plan. Sensible, capable, and ruthlessly efficient, Hannah Kabbah is the perfect nanny… until a colossal mistake destroys her career and shatters her reputation. These days, no-one in town will hire her except Nathaniel Davis, a brooding widower with a smile like sin and two kids he can’t handle. Prim and proper Hannah is supposed to make Nate’s life easier, but the more time he spends around his live-in nanny, the more she makes things… hard. He can’t take advantage of her vulnerable position, but he can’t deny the truth, either: with every look, every smile, every midnight meeting, Nate’s untouchable employee is stealing his heart. The trouble is, she doesn’t want to keep it. Forbidden love isn’t high on Hannah’s to-do list, and trust isn’t one of her strengths. When dark secrets threaten to destroy their bond, Nate’s forced to start playing dirty. Because this reformed bad boy will break every rule to finally claim his woman.

 

Here the Whole Time

Here the Whole Time by Vitor Martins

The charm and humour of To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Dumplin' in this body-positive YA love story between two boys who must spend 15 days living with each other over school break.Felipe can't wait for winter break: Finally, he'll get some time away from the classmates who tease him incessantly about his weight. But Felipe's plan turns upside down when he learns that Caio, his neighbour from apartment 57, will be staying with him for fifteen days. Which is a problem because (a) Felipe has had a crush on Caio since, well, forever; and (b) Felipe has a list of body image insecurities and absolutely NO idea how he's going to handle them while sharing a room with his lifelong crush.

Suddenly, the days that once promised rest and relaxation (not to mention some epic Netflix bingeing) are a gauntlet of every unresolved issue in Felipe's life. But if he can overcome his insecurities, then maybe, just maybe this break won't turn out to be such a disaster after all. "I read this in one sitting, laughing out loud and cheering for Felipe to follow his heart. I love this book!" Rainbow Rowell, New York Times bestselling author of Carry On and Wayward Son.

 

Wow, No Thank You

Wow, No Thank You by Samantha Irby

THE NUMBER ONE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

'Irby might be our great bard of quarantine.' New York Times. 'SO funny. Samantha Irby makes staying in feel like like a luxury, and reminds you that going out is actually quite annoying. I laughed out loud so much reading this, I honestly couldn't be more in awe of her.' Sara Pascoe. Staring down the barrel of her fortieth year, Samantha Irby is confronting the ways her life has changed since the days she could work a full 11 hour shift on 4 hours of sleep, change her shoes and put mascara on in the back of a moving cab and go from drinks to dinner to the club without a second thought.

Recently, things are more 'Girls Gone Mild.' In Wow, No Thank You Irby discusses the actual nightmare of living in a rural idyll, weighs in on body negativity (loving yourself is a full-time job with shitty benefits) and poses the essential question: Sure sex is fun but have you ever googled a popular meme?' Samantha Irby is the king of sparkling misanthropy and tender, loving dread.' Jia Tolentino 'A laugh. A fart. A snort.

Or some combination thereof. Be prepared to totally lose control of the noises that come out of your body while reading the latest essay collection from humor writer Samantha Irby.' Bustle 'The only writer who can make me laugh with abandon in public... Her signature irreverence is intact, of course, but it can't mask the heart she leaves bleeding on the page.' Elle 'Samantha Irby is hilarious... Nothing is off limits and I love it.' Candice Carty-Williams.

Share This Blog With The World:
Older Post Newer Post
translation missing: en.general.search.loading